fonaCAB Central Darts League




Posted by seamus mccormick on March 6, 2018 at 4:55 AM

Welcome back to the FonaCab Central darts league where all players descended upon the O’Donnells club for the annual Andy Kearney Pairs. With a 701 best of 3 format there would be no place to hide. Without further ado let’s see how the night developed.

Board 1

The first game of the night saw Seany and Sean Patterson take on Vinti Lenzi and Henry McCann. Both teams threw well but it was the father son combo that would prevail with Patterson snr throwing a 180 along the way. The score 2-0.

Game 2 saw Pat McGahan and Martin Irwin overcome a tough test in the form of Conor Toner and John McGrath to win 2-1.

Game 3: Donal/Sean Armstrong 0-2 Jim Lavery/John Consadine.

Game 4: Tom/Tucker Kearney 0-2 Conor Hanna/Adam McDade.

Game 5: Tony Corr/Martin Mooney 2-0 Gerard Burn/Paddy McAlleese.

Game 6 saw Paddy and Colm McGuinness take on Gerry McCormick and Paul Condon. Both teams showed their best however it was to be the experience of McCormick/Condon to prevail 2-1. McCormick throwing a 180 to combine well with Condon for a 24 darter.

Board 2

Game one saw Peter McDonnell jnr and snr play John Jones and Sean Fitzpatrick. Both teams played well however it was to be Toner and Fitzpatrick to provide an upset to prevail 2-0 winners.

Game 2: Jap Craig/Joe Dinnen 2-0 Gerry McIlduff/James Porter.

Game 3: Kieran McGuinness/D McCann 0-2 Dougie Bowes/ Paul Thompson.

Game 4: Aaron/Eamon McGovern 2-0 Jim Flannegan/Frankie McGeogh.

Game 5: Sean Armstrong/Dee Ireland 2-0 Sam McMahaon/Jim Taggart.

Game 6 Matt Doone/Paddy McKeown 2-0 John Quinn/Ricky Saddler.

Board 3

Game one saw Tommy Henry/Ben Lagan take on Martin Corbett and Davy McCusker. In what promised to be a good matchup the players didn’t disappoint. Corbett and McCusker combining to devastating effect to win 2-0 with a 22 darter along the way. McCusker also weighing in with a 180.

Game 2: Gerard Smith/S Curley 1-2 Rab Green/Stevie Jones.

Game 3: Martin Lavery/Michael Tierney 0-2 Brian Kerr/Butch Mallon.

Game 4: Henry McTasney jnr/J Kelly 2-0 Ciaran McKay/Joe Doone.

Game 5: Jim/Brendan McStravick 2-1 Chip Craig/Willie McKee.

Game 6: Tommy Fitzpatrick/Gerard OHanlon 0-2 James McStravick/Kev O’Neill.

Board 4

Game 1:Dan Delaney/Stephen Magee 2-0 Eugene Brannigan/Peter Leckey.

Game 2:Billy McDade/Joe McAttamney 2-0 S Kerr/Pat Burns.

Game 3: Tucker Clarke/Damien Corbett 2-0 G McGuinness/Mick McCartan.

Game 4: Fra Glennon/Alan Murphy 1-2 Paddy Dempsey/Andy Gray.

The final game of the night saw defending pairs champions Peter Fitzpatrick and Paul Porter take on Iron Anto Smith and Joe “Chilli Chilli” Flannery. With both teams not wanting to give an inch it was a close fought affair. However it was to be Smith and Anto to prevail and see the reigning champs fall at the first hurdle. The final score Fitzpatrick/Porter 0-2 Smith/Flannery.

With the first night of qualifiers taken care of and the cream rising to the top all eyes will be on the finals night this coming week. With the reigning champions out and a few upsets along the way one can only hope the final night is as exciting and of a high standard. Until next week keep practicing and remember to hold your nerve.

Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register